# NORTH DEVON COUNCIL

Minutes of an extraordinary meeting of Council held at G107, 1st Floor, South West Institute Development Building, Petroc, Barnstaple - Petroc College on Wednesday, 4th October, 2023 at 6.00 pm

PRESENT: Members:

Councillor Hunt (Chair)

Councillors Biederman, Bulled, Bushell, Cann, Davies, Denton, Haworth-Booth, Jones, Jusef, R Knight, C Leaver, P Leaver, Lovering, Maddocks, Maskell, Milton, Norman, Orange, Patrinos, Prowse, Quinn, Roome, L. Spear, Stevenson, Topps, Walker, Whitehead, Wilkinson, Williams, Wilson, Worden and York

Officers:

Director of Resources and Deputy Chief Executive and Senior Solicitor and Monitoring Officer

# 39. <u>APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE</u>

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Bell, Bishop, Crabb, D. Knight, Lane, Lethaby and Renshaw.

### 40. <u>BUSINESS BROUGHT FORWARD BY OR WITH THE CONSENT</u> OF THE CHAIR

There were no items brought forward by or with the consent of the Chair.

# 41. <u>DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST</u>

There were no declarations of interest announced.

# 42. <u>APPOINTMENT OF ALDERMEN/ALDERWOMEN</u>

Council considered a report by the Chief Executive (circulated previously) regarding the appointment of Honorary Aldermen/Alderwomen.

Councillor Wilkinson addressed Council in support of the nomination of Geoffrey Fowler.

Councillor Prowse addressed Council in support of the nomination of Yvette Gubb.

Councillor Worden addressed Council in support of the nomination of Derrick Spear

Councillor Hunt addressed Council in support of the nomination of Joe Tucker.

It was moved by Councillor Biederman and seconded by Councillor Roome that the recommendation be adopted.

RESOLVED that the following people be appointed to be Honorary Aldermen/Alderwoman in recognition of the long and eminent service that each has given to North Devon Council, to local government and to the community:

Geoffrey Fowler Yvette Gubb Derrick Spear Frederick (Joe) Tucker

The Chair presented a certificate to the Honorary Aldermen and Alderwoman.

Yvette Gubb, Geoffrey Fowler, Derrick Spear and Joe Tucker addressed Council and thanked Council for being appointed.

Chair The meeting ended at 6.24 pm

<u>NOTE:</u> These minutes will be confirmed as a correct record at the next meeting of the Committee.